Real Estate Zing
 USA Real Estate  USA Cities  Real Estate Agents List  Fannie Mae  Freddie Mac
 Home  »  USA  »  Arkansas  » Foreclosure Laws

Arkansas Foreclosure Laws

Arkansas Foreclosure Laws contain both Judicial as well as Non-judicial foreclosure process and generally the processing period is 120 days. The owner has the right to redeem the property within 365 days but this clause is present only for judicial foreclosure according to Arkansas foreclosure laws.

How the Foreclosure Process works in Arkansas?

If we talk about non judicial foreclosure then the Power of sale clause is there in the mortgage or deed of trust that gives the right of sale to the lender. In this there is no intervention by the court in making the foreclosure auction is done. The lender will have to file a notice of default with recorder's office. In case of judicial foreclosure, the law has made the court to intervene and decide on the amount of default. Along with this time is also given to the borrower to pay back the defaulted amount. But if it is not done then the court orders for auction of the foreclosed property in Arkansas. In both the cases appraisal of the property is mandatory and done before the process of foreclosure.

Foreclosure Sale and Auction

In case the Power of sale is present and has the date, time and place then the auction of the property will take place according to that only. But on the other hand, Arkansas foreclosure laws states that if no power of sale clause is there then proper procedure that has been laid down by the court must be followed. After 30 days of filing notice of default, send the copy of notice via mail to the borrower. Along with this the notice of sale must also be published in the newspaper of county for four consecutive weeks and that too before 10 days of the sale. The notice of sale must have the legal description of the property as recorded, its book and page number, names of the parties, the amount of default, time, date and place of sale, warning, intention of mortgagee or trustee to sell the property.

During auction, bidding is made and trustee on the behalf of lender can make the bid. The property according to foreclosure law in Arkansas is given to the highest bidder who then have to make the full payment of the bid within 10 days. The selling price of the property according to foreclosure law Arkansas cannot be less than 2/3rd of its appraised value. Now if the foreclosed home is not sold in the auction then auction for the second time is again organized within 12 months of the first auction.

Postponement of auction

According to Arkansas foreclosure laws the auction can also be postponed. In case it has been postponed for seven days then the trustee will make the announcement for new date, place and time of auction. But if the period of postponement is more than that then the whole procedure will have to be repeated.

Right of Redemption

There is no right of redemption in out of court settlement but in case of judicial foreclosure within the period of 365 days the foreclosed property can be redeemed by the owner. In this the whole payment, attorneys' fees and other charges are paid in order to get back the property according to Arkansas foreclosure laws.

For further reading on AR foreclosure laws check the websites listed by
Realty Trac
Check out information on Arkansas foreclosure laws in Realty Trac. You can also check home value, information on mortgages, agents and can also get free credit score.
United States Foreclosure Laws
Get the quick summary of Arkansas foreclosure laws along with complete picture of foreclosure statute.
Website: provides ample information on foreclosure laws in Arkansas. Also find out information on tax liens, bankruptcy laws and How to Buy Foreclosures.

Bank Foreclosures
Real Estate
Real Estate Commission
License Requirements
License Reciprocity
License Online
Cities in Arkansas
Home Mortgage
Coldwell Banker
Rental Homes
Homes for Rent
Condo Rentals
Residential Property
Association and Board
Realtors Association
Housing Authority
Top Builders
Home Builders
Property Taxes
Unclaimed Property
Property Tax
Building a Home