It’s no secret that toll roads are an important part of the U.S. economy. If you live in a major metropolitan area, it’s likely you have to pay at least one toll every week! But What Happens if You Don’t Pay a Toll in Florida ?
Before you get in your car and take the roads again, it’s important to know what could happen if you don’t pay. There are several consequences for not paying toll fees in Florida – some of which may be more severe than others!
- What Happens if You Don’t Pay a Toll in Florida?
- What should I do instead?
- How To Pay Your Unpaid Tolls?
- What if I paid my Florida toll fee but got charged for not doing
- What should I do if I don’t plan on paying?
- How much to expect?
- How To Pay Toll in Florida?
- What Happens if You Fail To Pay Florida Tolls While Driving a Rented Car?
- What happens when you get pulled over by law enforcement for failing to pay a toll?
- Why should you pay your tolls on time, even if it’s just $1 or $2?
- Be sure to pay the Toll Fees and Enjoy the roads
- To conclude if what would happen if you don’t pay a Toll in Florida:
What Happens if You Don’t Pay a Toll in Florida?
- Your vehicle registration can be suspended
- You could face arrest and jail time
- Your car may be impounded until you pay the fees
- You will be billed with court fees
- You may have to pay additional fines and surcharges
- You will have to pay the original toll fee plus a fine
What should I do instead?
If there isn’t a human at the toll booth it is best to call the Department of Transportation and pay over the phone. They will be able to access your license plate number, so you don’t have to worry about taking any extra forms with you before driving through!
If you owe money on tolls, it is best to try and pay your debt before driving through. This may help prevent any additional fees or consequences from happening!
Make sure that if you are sending in a check, send it out as soon as possible so it has enough time to process it! If they receive it after a certain time, they may not receive it in enough time.
How To Pay Your Unpaid Tolls?
Unpaid tolls cost you a significant amount of time, money, and work if you don’t pay them right away. Paying the unpaid tolls isn’t very difficult. The following are several options for settling the bill:
- Online: Your collection fees may be paid in one of two ways: through electronic pre-paid collection fee by system provider’s website, or by phone.
- Mail: Money order or check to FDOT or the service provider, as stated on the notice. You also have to give them all of the necessary information, like full name and license plate number.
- Cash: You can only make payments with cash if you use an electronic system, and you must go to a provider’s retail outlets.
- Phone: If you want to pay by phone, call the toll number provided in the notice.
Keep in mind that the instructions on how to pay your unpaid toll charges will be included on your bill or invoice. Whatever payment method you pick, make sure you follow the directions carefully to minimize any hassles.
What if I paid my Florida toll fee but got charged for not doing
It’s important, if you are on a Florida toll road, that you always keep your payment information up to date. Some of these consequences can be avoided by simply paying the fee at certain locations before you take the roads again! If you were charged for not paying a toll in Florida you can contact the Department of Transportation.
What should I do if I don’t plan on paying?
You may think that because there are no cameras or humans at your toll booth that you can just drive on through. This is a big mistake! There are cameras at all Florida toll booths and the Department of Transportation has access to this footage, meaning they will be able to track your vehicle down and charge you for it if you don’t pay up.
How much to expect?
- Your vehicle registration can be suspended: $150-500 fee
- You could face arrest and jail time: up to one year in prison and a fine of $1000
- Your car may be impounded until you pay the fees: $250-$300 tow charge + storage costs at around $25 per day after 30 days.
- Make sure your toll tag account has enough funds for what you plan to drive.
- Avoid getting your license plate suspended by paying Florida tolls on time.
Ask about your options if you are having issues with the fee payment system. – If you have concerns with how to pay for a fine, reach out and ask! There may be other ways to resolve any issues without being charged fees or facing jail time or car impoundment.
How To Pay Toll in Florida?
You can pay tolls in Florida by using your SunPass, E-PASS or LeeWay account. If you do not have either of these accounts then you will need to open one before taking the roads again!
You can also use cash at most locations but this is not recommended as there are additional fees for doing so and it may be harder to keep up with the payment process when you are traveling.
If you do end up in a situation where you have to pay for not paying, or if your vehicle registration gets suspended, it is best to reach out and ask about what other options may be available. This way there isn’t any added stress while on vacation!
Which Is Better: SunPass, EPass or LeeWay?
- SunPass is the preferred option in most Florida metropolitan areas – with 62% of all toll roads using it!
- E-PASS is the least popular and is only used on 16% of toll roads in Florida. It has a more limited use due to its lack of availability
- LeeWay is just as effective as SunPass, but charges a $0.50 surcharge for users with an E-PASS account attached to their license plate number. This fee makes LeeWay less than ideal for those who already have an E-PASS account.
What can you do if your Sunpass or Epass account runs low?
You may have noticed when checking out at the cashier that you can link your Sunpass or E-PASS account directly to a bank account, credit card or debit card. With this option it is much easier to keep up with the payment process so there are no issues when taking Florida toll roads!
For Cash users
There are a number of tolled and uncrewed tolls available. The distinction is that you must calculate the correct amount for uncrewed tolls since you will not be given any change.
- Unmanned: It’s a good idea to put the amount a few meters away from the toll, especially if you expect slow traffic because of the other vehicles in front of you. Then, just drop money into the toll basket.
- Manned: Even though the toll staff can receive more than the toll fee and give you change, if you pay with a bill greater than $20, they will not accept it. Instead, they’ll provide you with Insufficient Funds Notification. You must then pay the difference using a check or money order as directed in another part of this article.
What Happens if You Fail To Pay Florida Tolls While Driving a Rented Car?
If you fail to pay any Florida tolls while driving a rented car, the rental company will be responsible for paying them. They have access to your license plate number and can track down where you were at all times from their records!
If they do not pay that fee then it is possible that your vehicle registration could get suspended or even result in a fine from the rental company.
In order to make sure that you are always able to pay for Florida tolls, it is a good idea to link your account directly with a credit card or bank account. This way there can be no confusion when making payments and everything will go smoothly! If this isn’t possible then you should reach out and ask the rental company about how they handle tolls.
It’s best to reach out and ask about how they handle tolls so there isn’t any added stress while on vacation! This way you can make sure that you will be able to pay for Florida tolls and avoid any possible problems.
What happens when you get pulled over by law enforcement for failing to pay a toll?
If you have not paid a toll then it is possible that you will be pulled over by law enforcement and given a ticket. In this situation, there are two different outcomes:
You can pay the fine at an agency office (or online) within 30 days of receiving your citation. If you do so, court costs may also apply and the total will be listed on your ticket.
You can contest the citation and request a court date within 30 days of receiving it. If you choose this option, you must pay bail (often $100) to avoid having your license suspended until appearing in front of a judge at which point there is no guarantee as to what might happen!
Why should you pay your tolls on time, even if it’s just $1 or $2?
It is always a good idea to pay your tolls! Even if you don’t think it will be an issue, there can still be consequences for not paying. This includes receiving any of the following:
A fine from law enforcement while driving or even on vacation in Florida. You may also have your license suspended and get a mark on your driving record.
A late fee from a rental company if you do not pay tolls while using a rented car. If the fees are left unpaid, it could even result in additional charges from the rental agency!
Inability to use electronic roads such as Sunpass or E-PASS until all of your Florida tolls are paid in full.
Now that you know all of the potential consequences, it is a good idea to make sure that you always have enough money available when taking Florida toll roads! If possible link your credit card or bank account directly with your Sunpass so there won’t be any issues while on vacation and everything will go smoothly!
Be sure to pay the Toll Fees and Enjoy the roads
Toll roads are something that many people take for granted, but there’s more to it than you might think! If you’re planning on taking any Sunpass or E-PASS tolls while traveling in Florida then be sure to find out exactly how the payment system works so nothing will go wrong during your trip.
- Do not send cash in the mail, as this is a common scam! – Only use a check or money order if directed by Sunpass and E-PASS customer service representatives.
- Linking your credit card or bank account directly with Sunpass is the most reliable way to pay for Florida tolls, but if this isn’t an option then be sure that you have enough money on hand in case of emergencies. This will prevent any possible issues during your trip!
To conclude if what would happen if you don’t pay a Toll in Florida:
You can be given a ticket and your license may get suspended and there is no guarantee as to what will happen at the court hearing!
You can pay for your citation online or in person within 30 days of receiving it.
To avoid all this, always have enough money on hand when using Sunpass and E-PASS toll roads! It is also a good idea to link your account directly with a credit card so there won’t be any issues while traveling in Florida.
Please consult a licensed real estate agent or appropriate professional
Information changes almost daily. None of the authors, contributors, administrators, or anyone else connected with RealEstateZing, in any way whatsoever, can be responsible for your use of the information contained in or linked from these web pages.